January 18, 2016

I am enjoying a long weekend since today is Martin Luther King, Jr. day. I can honestly say I am doing exactly what I want without any schedule or obligations and it feels amazing. Yesterday I woke up early, read for quite a while, went to the gym, did some chores around the house, went to the laundromat, and saw The Revenant.

 

I LOVED The Revenant and Lenardo DiCaprio better win his Oscar! That is some great acting. Fun fact: they actually filmed that movie in three countries. They filmed some of it in Libby, MT, too! I thought a lot about family and what we do for those we love throughout the whole movie. I also thought to myself “this is the real version of Into the Wild and Wild.”  Not that I don’t enjoy those books/stories, too, but I mean that trapper slept in a horse carcass! Survived a bear attack! My dad said that The Revenant is based on a true story- I know what I’m reading next! Right now I’m reading something I don’t normally read- a paranormal chic lit. It reads like young adult lit but I need something light and fun every once in a while. Also, the author is from North Dakota so that’s cool. I also downloaded The Martian on audible to listen to at the gym and I’m hooked. I’ll watch the movie after the book.

IMG_3165

I have really been increasing my time at the gym! Yesterday I did the elliptical for 33 minutes and walked for another 40! I think part of it was The Martian 🙂 I got a fit bit for Christmas and have been hitting about 14,000 steps a day. I do not get to that if I don’t go to the gym so it is a good motivator.

I did my first pork shoulder roast on Saturday and it turned out great! I had kale and mashed sweet potatoes with cinnamon apple chunks on the side.I put some dried cranberries on top of the potatoes for some extra flavor.

I have stopped blogging about each specific meal and exercise but I am still doing it! And it’s working so I am not going to go overboard and do it all twice. I want to keep my positive energy and not obsess too much! Starting the Whole30 has been on of the best decisions I’ve made in a LONG time. I have lots of energy, more confidence, and just generally feel happy. I think I underestimated the effect that alcohol, chocolate, pizza etc. have on my body. I feel “clean” and healthy now. And it’s only Day 16! I’m not going to lie, I have really been craving a Cheeseburger from Old Main and a chocolate dessert of any kind 🙂 I’m also learning about my North Dakota lifestyle…for example, I went to another art night on Friday. What did they have there? Wine, pop, and lots of good looking snacks that are totally not Whole30 approved. I planned ahead and brought my own sparkling water so I could have my own treat while everyone else enjoyed around me. Also, this weekend was eye opening in that on Saturday night or even last night I had the thought that I would’ve gone to the bar on similar nights last month but I didn’t desire to go! Also, I think I’m saving money by not eating out and going out as much! My friend and I have started going to the gym together rather than out for happy hour.

IMG_3162

 

 

Leave a Reply

