Friday, December 11th continued

Diet:

  • Breakfast Burrito
  • Coffee and Gingerbread Creamer
  • small bottle of orange juice
  • 6″ Turkey Sub from Subway (turkey, provolone, lettuce, tomato, green bell pepper and cranberry sauce. I LOVE that sandwich!)
  • small bag of Lays “healthy” BBQ chips
  • small coffee mocha
  • water
  • small bag of Sour Cream and Onion Ritz chips
  • Sweet Red wine (2 glasses)
  • Whole30 Chicken Cacciatore with Cauliflower “rice” (my first whole30 recipe adventure!) It was very good. I did alter the recipe and only use 4 chicken thighs so I won’t be eating it for one week. I put about 1/2 cup of cauliflower in the bowl and then topped with one thigh and some of the veggies and sauce. it was tasty!

 

I was lazy tonight but it feels good. We are having our first real snowfall of this winter and it is great! The snow is so pretty and fluffy 🙂 In one of my magazines I came across this article about being your own life coach. The article has 5 questions to motivate you- so here are my answers off the top of my head.

  1. What would I see in a snapshot of my best self?

I see myself as a caring, outgoing woman with a great career and self respect. I am healthy and have a healthy lifestyle that benefits my mental, social and physical well being. (Can you tell I’m a social worker?)

2.  Which of my values have I put on the backburner?

At this point I have put health and family out of my focus. I have focused on work, my friends in Devils Lake and myself. I need to get back on track with maintaining my family relationships and taking care of myself.

3.  Is this a “should” or is this a “want”?

I want to run a 10K in May 2016 and I should get healthy. I want to read and challenge myself intellectually. I should to the Miracle Morning but I don’t want to…I should start sewing with my sewing machine, knitting, etc.

4. How can I be kinder to myself?

I am not afraid to admit that I’m not perfect but I do make comments that put me down. For example, I was skyping with my sister the other day and I was wearing my Gopher sweat shirt. My sister said, “wow that is too big for you.” And I said, “No, I’m just fat.” Another example: today at work I got a call from a social worker to approve funds to give to a family and I had her call my boss even though my boss was out of the office. I felt like I was useless and should’ve been able to take the call- but it’s not even in my authority! I expect perfection of myself but it is not realistic and sometimes not even the right perspective.

5. Could I be sabotaging my success?

I need to learn how to keep promises to myself. I will train and run the 10K in May. I will complete the Whole30 plan in January and February (start the 30 days on 1-2-16 and then start reintegration in February- I’m reading the book and see that it’s more like 2 months of a program- not 30 days. Good!)

I will continue to schedule my gym time and make time to prepare healthy meals.IMG_3027

This was in the paper today and cracked me up.

IMG_3034

Leave a Reply

