Wednesday, November 18th

This is a great week! (knock on wood).  I’ve been eating healthy, going to the gym, might have a date (?), cooking and have started my Christmas shopping. I LOVE Christmas shopping.

Sunday: Skyped with my aunts. Helped my mentee with long division homework (quite interesting). Watched the Broncos lose….

Monday: Had a good day at work. Had salad and pizza for lunch and dinner. I went to the gym and walked on the treadmill for 30 minutes.

Tuesday: Busy day at work! One of the busiest since I started! We staffed 6 child protection assessments at Team. And who writes all of the notes? This girl. Boom! I went to the laundromat after work. I had overnight banana oats for breakfast, salad (carrot, tomato, parm cheese, lettuce, Thai dressing, turkey lunch meat), and a pulled pork sandwich for dinner. I made slow cooked pulled pork in the crock pot and it was a tasty experiment.

Allison’s Pulled Pork

I rubbed a 2 pound pork loin roast with Pig Tickle spice from Colorado and put it in the crock pot. I whisked 1 cup ketchup, 1 cup apple cider vinegar and 1/4 cup molasses and poured on top of the pork. Then I cooked it on low from 8 AM-5 PM. I removed and shredded the pork. Simmer 1 and 1/2 cups of the juice/sauce with 2 tsp. cornstarch to make a thick BBQ sauce. Pour the rest of the juice over the pulled pork so it stays moist. Then create your sandwich!

IMG_2925

My sandwich. Every other picture I saw of a pulled pork sandwich had coleslaw on it so I that’s what I did, too. I had kettle chips with it 🙂

Today: I had two scrambled eggs with shredded cheddar cheese and 1/2 avocado for breakfast. For lunch I had a pulled pork sandwich (minus the coleslaw). I had a can of diet Pepsi at work after lunch. For dinner I had a salad (lettuce, cucumber, tomato, ranch dressing) and a pulled pork sandwich.

Exercise: ran/walked 2.2 miles in 35 minutes (0-2% incline).

My big news of the week: I signed up for the FARGO 10K! One of my friends from Minneapolis is going to train and run it with me. It will be a fun reunion! I had so much fun getting ready for the Color Run so wanted to find something else to aim for….the 10K will keep me motivated to run!

I am making applesauce for a treat (and to use up some apples I have!)

Allison’s AppleSauce- 5-6 small apples ( I used sweet tango), cinnamon, honey, 1 cup water, brown sugar, sugar

I chopped the apples and sprinkled some sugar on top. I probably added about 1 Tbsp. honey. Add 1 cup water and simmer for 30 minutes (give or take). I can’t wait to try it!

 

Leave a Reply

