Thursday, August 27th.

Just going to say it upfront. Today was a BAD diet day. I did not eat well or healthy.

Diet:

  • peach almond oatmeal with almond milk (I’m getting sick of this. I don’t know if I can eat it one more day!)
  • strawberries
  • coffee
  • brat with bun, mustard and onions. Watermelon and grapes. Mexican Frito/Dorito “salad.” Brownie. Cookie.  (The staff had a welcome potluck for the other new staff and myself today! It was awesome. I have no self control when it comes to potlucks and lots of delicious food!)
  • walleye sandwich, 4-5 cheese balls. My mentee and her brother wanted to eat dinner at the Cove and swim so we splurged for the first day of school celebration 🙂

Exercise:…like I said, I took my mentee and her brother out for dinner. Didn’t get any exercise in today.

My former boss got fired today. I had a few mixed feelings about it (no, I wasn’t surprised she got fired) but overall it just felt weird. Here is the story that explains my mixed feelings…My first boss’s last day was February 28th. Myself and another woman (we’ll call her Sally) interviewed for his job (Director of Benson County Social Services). I did not get it so Sally started in the middle of April. I was a social worker at Benson County until I got my Regional Rep. job and started August 3rd. Now, one month later, Sally is fired! It’s hard to explain. Obviously my career would be on a different path if I had become the director of Benson County Social Services. BUT because I didn’t get that job I was able to interview for another awesome job and get different experience and gain new knowledge in a different agency and way. I’m not saying one way is better than the other. I am embracing the path I’m on. It was out of my control but it is still interesting to say, “What if?” isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

