Sunday, August 9th.

Today was very eye opening to me. I woke up at 7 AM, had a smoothie and then went to the park to run/jog/walk for my Zombie 5K training. I came home, put my chicken chili in the crockpot and baked a lot of zucchini bread (2 regular loaves and 2 mini loaves). Then I went for a Sunday drive after a quick trip to Walmart. I came home, ate dinner, did a few chores and then went to the gym to walk for 30 minutes. I felt myself needing something to do and thought that the gym was a better option than going to Dairy Queen 🙂 Now I am realizing how much energy I have when I don’t go out partying the night before. Hangovers can be worth it but I never complain about NOT having a hangover. I have not drank alcohol since the bloody marys at the book club meeting last Tuesday. It doesn’t seem like a big deal to some (and to people in my life that know I am not an alcoholic or “big drinker”) but it is interesting to see how conscious I am about how much alcohol I’m NOT drinking (a beer or glass of wine with dinner, a few drinks at happy hour one night a week, etc). I will go this week without alcohol but I know that Saturday night at Rockin the Cove I will have an adult beverage or two. 😉

So, to summarize:

Weight: 172 pounds

Exercise: 34 minutes of running/jogging/walking in the park this morning and 30 minutes of walking on the treadmill this evening.

Devils Lake at 8 AM
Devils Lake at 8 AM

Diet:

  1. smoothie: 1/2 cup fresh raspberries, 1/2 cup fresh strawberries, 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 tsp. flaxmeal, 1/2 Tbsp. chia seeds
  2. two scrambled eggs w/ cheddar cheese, tomatoes and ketchup, one slice of raspberry lemon zucchini bread.
  3. 1/2 cup couscous and 1/2 cup+ of veggie stir fry
  4. 1 cup of chicken chili w/ cheddar cheese and a dollop of Greek Yogurt

Allison’s Chicken Chili Crock Pot Recipe:

  • 2 chicken breasts cubed
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can white kidney beans
  • 1 small can tomato sauce
  • 1 bell pepper (I used yellow)
  • 1 small white onion
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2+ Tbsp. Chili powder (it kind of went crazy into the pot!)
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • approx. 2 cloves garlic
  • some salt and pepper
  • one jalapeno

Throw all ingredients into the crock pot and cook all day! I like a thicker chili. I used my mom’s famous recipe as a guide but did my own thing with what I had on hand. It turned out very good! And now I have a lot of chili to get me through the week.

I decided to take “before” pictures at the gym tonight so I can see my progress in a few weeks. Hopefully these pictures will keep me motivated! I also started reading The Miracle Morning. My sister gave me that book for my birthday but I hadn’t gotten around to reading it. So far I really enjoy the man’s advice!

“before” photos
“before” photos
“before” photos
Leave a Reply

