Day 21: Sunday, May 10th

Sunday was a relaxing day. I slept in, went to the gym, talked to my aunt, cut some fruit, completed a sewing project and met up with a friend for some drinks.

I gave in to my sweet tooth and desire to bake a homemade treat and made these Brown Butter Blondies. They were good, good, good! I ate a couple throughout Sunday and then gave the rest to my friend to enjoy.

Brown Butter Blondies with Brown Sugar Frosting.
Brown Butter Blondies with Brown Sugar Frosting.

Diet/Exercise:

Breakfast- two Brown Butter Blondies. (Oops)

Gym- Elliptical 33 minutes and stretches

Lunch- green salad with carrot, tomatoes and serving of Polenta Casserole.

Snacks- mini bag of Doritos, one Brown Butter Blondie, hot chocolate

Dinner- small piece of Polenta Casserole.

Proz- met up with my friend at Proz. We shared cheese balls. I had two beers and a bicardi diet (in memory of my mother).

My aunt’s birthday is on Thursday and I decided it would be fun to use the present she gave me at Christmas to make her birthday present- a sewing machine! The last time I sewed anything with a sewing machine was in Girl Scouts when I was in elementary school. I bought fabric at Hobby Lobby the last time I was in Grand Forks and had been procrastinating on starting the project (I think because I was nervous about messing up!). So, yesterday I got to work because they have to be mailed today! I made two placemats. Technically, I made three but one was a “practice” mat and looked awful. I had big plans to add a border of gray fabric but decided they looked neat just as is. So, I basically sewed two pieces of fabric together for this project. Seems like a small thing but I was proud of myself just for getting the bobbin thread and threading the needle! Small victories with this hobby. My friend gave me sewing lessons for my birthday and I think that I’ll set those up ASAP.

the Bird Placemat #1
the Bird Placemat #1
Simba and the patterns. She didn't know what to think about the sewing machine.
Simba and the patterns. She didn’t know what to think about the sewing machine.
Leave a Reply

