Day 19: Friday, May 8th (typed on May 9th….)

Happy Mother’s Day weekend to all of the mothers, grandmothers and foster mothers out there! I have fond memories of my sister, mom and I celebrating mother’s day in Casper during my childhood. This will be the 10th Mother’s Day since my mother died but I think of her and send love to her every day.  So, while the Mother’s Day holiday used to be difficult I have started to look at it different as I’ve gotten older. I now look at Mother’s Day as a day to appreciate all of the mothers in my life who are with us and who aren’t with us anymore. Of course, I have  a lot of appreciation for my stepmom, Vickie, and celebrate with her. She is a strong, kind woman and has the strength to put up with my dad on a daily basis! 😉

Thor and Tucker
Thor and Tucker

This is who was waiting on my front step when I went outside to get my newspaper this morning. Aren’t they cute?! They are my neighbor’s dogs. My neighbor is remodeling her back porch so has tied the dogs up in the front yard for a few days…as you can see, they come in my yard! Thor is obsessed with Simba so I’m guessing he is patiently waiting for her to come outside 🙂 Tucker just wanted a pat on the head.

Diet for May 8th:

  • Special K Breakfast Sandwich (these are delicious!) From Special K website: “Multigrain flatbread, real eggs, sausage and cheese will help keep your taste buds very happy. And at 240 calories with 14g of protein and 3g of fiber, Special K® breakfast sandwiches are just the thing to kick your mornings up a notch.”
  • one pork chop with ~1/2 cup butternut squash
  • one small bag of Pepperjack Cheez Its (~300 calories)
  • one pork chop w/ mustard cream sauce
  • one hotdog in bun with BBQ sauce and relish
  • two scrambled eggs, salsa, english muffin
  • 3 homemade blended Daiquiris

So, you might see from the list that I had a night of drinking! On of my coworkers hosted a happy hour at her house and made us frozen drinks that were good! She grilled us food and we played a board game. Overall, a fun night! The not fun part was when I was home at 11 PM and realized I was hungry and needed a snack…Oh well. I’ll eat healthy today and plan on getting lots of exercise- the gym and pool with my mentee.

When I got home last night I decided to read a bit before bed…two hours later I had finished my book! I read At The Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen. This was a fun, quick read! I like books that take you back in time and leave a little bit of mystery to the reader to solve. To give a brief summary, a trio of Americans- wife, husband and their friend- go to Scotland to search for the Loch Ness Monster. While they don’t find the Loch Ness monster, Maddie finds many truths about her husband and friend, discovers herself and finds love. I think that that actually sums it up.  The love story was sweet but seemed a little forced at times. I think it would have helped to have a clearer idea of time- how many days had passed? A year? A month? I’m still not sure what the timeframe was. Like I said, I like books that take place in different time periods and historical contexts but this was not my favorite book.

Leave a Reply

