Day 14: Sunday, May 3rd

Wow! I cannot believe I’m on Day 14 of my blog. I feel like I haven’t lost as much weight as I wanted to by this time but I don’t think it’s been a waste of time at all! I have been motivated to go to the gym and work out at least 12 times a month (three times a week minimum). I am more aware of my eating habits. I am still making progress!

Weight:

I weighed myself at the gym and am at 168 pounds. I honestly thought that trip to New Mexico would mean I had gained weight this week, so maintaining feels like a win!

Exercise:

28 minutes on the elliptical today. I need to add some weight lifting to my routine.

Diet:

For breakfast I had an omelet (two eggs, 1/2 of an avocado and grape tomatoes). For lunch I had fries, pig wings (little ribs for those of you have never been to Proz Lakeside at the Cove in Devils Lake, ND haha), a small Shirley Temple and a couple of bites of chocolate cake. I am an Amachi Mentor and my mentee, Kayla, is turning 14 years old on Friday! I took Kayla and two of her cousins out for a birthday lunch today to celebrate. That is a big deal for Kayla because she her family doesn’t take her out for birthday meals. We had a nice time but it was windy on the beach so we didn’t stay outside too long. For dinner I had a simple meal of broccoli salad and Smoky Bean Soup with Avocado-Lime salsa. As mentioned in my previous blog, I chose the soup from the Cooking Light magazine. The great thing is, I now have lunch and dinner for at least the next two days prepared!

Smoky Bean Soup and Trisha Yearwood's Broccoli Salad
Smoky Bean Soup and Trisha Yearwood’s Broccoli Salad

The soup is a simple recipe of black beans, salsa, fire roasted tomatoes, water and cumin. The Avocado-Lime Salsa is exactly that – avocados, lime juice and zest, and cilantro. I used Trisha Yearwood’s recipe for broccoli salad but didn’t add bacon and I added snap peas and chopped pecans (broccoli, sunflower kernels, mayo, sugar, cider vinegar, raisins). I could have easily substituted greek yogurt for mayo now that I think about it…I became addicted to broccoli salad after I bought it at Leever’s one day. Now, a small container costs $6-$8!! That is ridiculous! I added up the cost of the major ingredients and made many servings for less than $6 total! Next time I need to add more vegetables because there was way too much dressing for the amount of broccoli/snap peas I had prepared. I put it over lettuce tonight so it worked out in the end.

Water, one bottle of Pure Leaf Lemon Tea (170 calories) and some Wine.

Leave a Reply

