The Perfect Time to Start Something Never Arrives.

So, I have decided to commit to getting healthy. I have been either in denial, lazy, not caring or a combination of all of those things over the last year.  I realized in February 2014 that I have gained about 10 pounds since I moved to North Dakota in 2012. I had also gained 10 pounds from the time I started college until the end of grad school.  I’m honestly not sure about those numbers because I never really paid attention to my weight until it got to a point last year where I knew I was gaining weight and slightly overweight. Maybe I will look through my medical records and create a timeline, but I understand our bodies change as we age and sometimes weight gain is not always bad.

My idea is that this blog will help me keep on track with my journey to a healthy lifestyle. I don’t necessarily just want to lose weight.  I want to get in shape and maintain a healthy life (mentally, physically, emotionally).

So, here are the facts:

  • I am 26 years old (I will be 27 years old on 4/29/15!!)
  • I weigh 168 pounds.
  • My BMI is 25.5 which means I am “overweight.” When my BMI is 18.5-24.9 I will have a “normal weight.” According to the chart, I will weigh between 125 and 158 pounds. Obviously, I do not want to weigh 125 pounds! I think I will start with my goal being to lose 8 pounds, see how I feel at that weight and go from there.
  • I belong to Anytime Fitness and have been going somewhat regularly over the last year.
  • I am a social worker and therefore have a busy work schedule and a certain amount of stress from the job.
  • I have a major sweet tooth! I love chocolate. I love baking (it is a stress reliever for me). I love any type of dessert actually.
  • I drink coffee regularly but will admit I do not drink enough water throughout the day.
  • I have supportive friends and family, however, I don’t have a friend in Devils Lake that is going to be my gym buddy, etc.
  • I am fortunate enough to have the resources to buy healthy foods, have my gym membership and health care (I am generally healthy).
  • My friend Emily encouraged me to do the 21 Day Fix and I bought the kit. I have done some of the exercises and the meal plan on and off for two weeks. Just seeing that I can’t commit to that for 21 days was eye opening.
  • I did Weight Watchers for about 6 months last year and did lose weight…then my attitude changed for some reason and I gained the weight back and quit the program. Another learning experience.

So, with all that said, here are my main goals that I will focus on over the next month:

  1. Exercise for 30 minutes at least 5 days a week.
  2. Drink more water. 64 ounces a day.
  3. Consistently have a healthy diet. I do eat healthy foods most of the time but I think my portion control is bad.
  4. Limit alcohol to 3 drinks a week. I enjoy beer and wine but have learned that by cutting those from my diet I feel less bloated.

Tasks:

  1. Weigh myself once a week.
  2. Track my water intake daily.
  3. Hold myself accountable by doing a blog post daily about my slips and accomplishments.
  4. Use the 21 Day Fix kit to track my meals, keep on track with eating clean and maintain portion control.
  5. Use the blog and my calendar to track my exercises (time, type, etc.).
  6. Exercise for 30 minutes at least 5 days a week.  I need to go to Anytime Fitness 3 times a week to get my credit so that is good motivation. I will go for walks in the parks or use one of the dance DVDs I bought last month. I have many options!

I am going to commit to these goals and tasks for ONE MONTH.

Start Date: April 19, 2015

Check in with my goals/task date: May 17, 2015

Notice I didn’t say “End” Date?! I will not end this after one month but will evaluate the pros/cons of my plan.

Leave a Reply

